Minnesota Book Awards: and the winners are…

Tonight marked the 26th Minnesota Book Awards at St. Paul’s Union Depot. The annual ceremony celebrates some of the greatest new books by Minnesotans.

The awards are divided into eight categories: children’s literature, general nonfiction, genre fiction, memoir and creative nonfiction, Minnesota, novel and short story, poetry, and young people’s literature.

And here they are, so you can recognize them next time you’re in a bookstore:

LaRochelle_Wohnoutka_book jacket

jack_el-hai_book jacket

william kent krueger_book jacket

prairie silence

kristin makholm_book jacket

PeripateticCoffin pb c.eps

matt rasmussen_book jacket (96 dpi)

carrie mesrobian_book jacket

Three other previously announced awards were also handed out tonight; longtime Minnesota State University Moorhead professor Mark Vinz received the Kay Sexton Award for his lifelong contributions to Minnesota’s literary community. Carleton College professor Fred Hagstrom was presented with the award for Minnesota Book Artist of the year. And both Gwen Westerman and Bruce White were awarded the biennial Hognander Minnesota History Award – which recognizes and celebrates the most outstanding scholarly work published on a topic of Minnesota history – for Mni Sota Makoce: The Land of the Dakota.

Congratulations to all the winners!