Five Minnesota authors awarded McKnight fellowships

Congratulations are in order for five Minnesota authors, who were each awarded $25,000 in the form of McKnight fellowships.

Presented by the Loft Literary Center, the awards for creative prose went to:

Matthew Batt , the author of “Sugarhouse

Eric Braun, who won the Minnesota Monthly’s Tamarack Award for his short story “Men With Boxes

Susan Koefod, author of the Aryo Thorson mystery series, including “Washed Up,” “Broken Down” and “Burnt Out”

Kao Kalia Yang, author of “The Latehomecomer”

In addition, an award for children’s literature went to Anne Ursu author of the acclaimed children’s book “Breadcrumbs.