The panels of artist peers have spoken

It’s been a week of honors and acknowledgement in the Minnesota arts community.

On Monday night, the Ivey Awards, the annual celebration of Twin Cities theater, brought glitz, glamour and local thespian star power to the State Theater in Minneapolis.

On Wednesday night, members of the dance scene trained a spotlight on their best and brightest in 2009, with the fifth annual Sage Awards (named after dancer, choreographer and philanthropist Sage Cowles) at the Walker Art Center’s McGuire Theater.

Both ceremonies are designed to tone down competition — there are no pre-established categories and awards are decided by peer panels rather than independent judges.

A hearty congratulations to the winners!

Ivey Awards

Jennifer and Christina Baldwin—Outstanding singing and acting in “Sister Stories,” by Nautilus Music Theater

Greta Olgesby—Outstanding performance in Tony Kushner’s “Caroline, Or Change” at the Guthrie Theater

Luverne Seifert—Outstanding performance in “800 Words, The Transmigration of Philip K. Dick,” by Workhaus Theater Collective

Sonja Parks—Outstanding performance in the one-woman show, “No Child,” at Pillsbury House Theatre

The Youth Performance Company—Civil rights musical “Little Rock, 1957”

Greg Banks—Oustanding direction in “Romeo and Juliet,” by the Childrens Theatre Company

Chris Griffith—Oustanding prop design in “Herschel and the Hanukkah Goblins,” by the Minnesota Jewish Theatre Company

Sean Healy—Oustanding sound design in “Shipwrecked,” by the Jungle Theater

The History Theatre—Overall excellence for its production, “Tyrone and Ralph,” written by Jeffrey Hatcher

Theatre Latte Da–Overall excellence for its production, “Old Wicked Songs”

Emily Gunyou Halaas—Emerging Artist award

Dudley Riggs—Lifetime Achievement award

Sage Awards

Tary Griggs—Outstanding Performer award

Kristin Van Loon—Outstanding Performer award

Tamara Ober—Outstanding Performer award

John Munger—Outstanding Performance award for “Lord Cutglass”

Hijack—Outstanding Performance award for “O.M.G. P,Y.T.M.K.”

Chris Yon—Outstanding Performance award for “The Infinite Multiverse”

John Koch, Vanessa Voskull, David Mehrer—Technical award for lighting, prop and video design in “En Masse”

Karen Sherman, Jeremy Wilhelm—Technical award for set design in “Copperhead”

Jane Shockley—Recognized for her contributions to dance education as a founding member of Zenon Dance Company

Wild Goose Chase Cloggers, DeLaSouljah Steppers–Special citation

Sachiko Nishiuchi—People’s Choice award for work with Zorongo Flamenco Dance Theatre