How not to play outfield

Let (s)he who has never had a day like St. Louis Cardinals’ outfielder Marcell Ozuna had last evening cast the first stone.

“I guess we can laugh about it now that he’s not hurt, but it was a funky route,” Dodgers manager Dave Roberts said. “He will be in the bloopers for the next 10 years.”

  • Heh, nice.

    I was at the infamous “Milton Bradley” Twins/Cubs game 10 years ago (I took my mom to this game for her 79th birthday, she tricked me into going to Chicago for a Twins game):

    MB also lost a ball in the sun that game. It was…funny…

    • Milton, former Cleveland Indian, of course, was a piece of work.

      • boB from WA

        One could say it was all a game for him.

      • The truly odd thing about that game, besides MB’s shenanigans, was that Wrigley was PACKED with Twins fans that series.

        I stumbled upon a rebroadcast of that game a few months later and whenever Joe Mauer came up to bat you can plainly hear the crowd cheering for him (it was LOUD in the stands).

        On his third at-bat, the Cubs announcer basically said, “Cubs fans seem to REALLY like Joe Mauer.”

        Heh, no. You get that when over half the stadium is chock full of Twins fans.

        /The Cubs fans around us were great. We bought beers for each other and the guy in from of us bought a commemorative baseball for my mom. My mom talks about that game ALL the time.

  • Ben Chorn
  • Barton

    If that is the most idiotic thing that happens to my Cardinals this season, I’ll take it….

  • Sonny T

    Did they score this an error? I’m not seeing an error on the box scores.

    • He never touched the ball so I believe it goes as a hit.

      • Sonny T

        You’re the man Bob. But are you sure? I found this:

        Weller referred to baseball rules, too — No. 10.12(a), to be exact — about his ruling.

        Among the included comments related to the definition of errors in that section were two that came into play.

        “It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error,” said one.

        “The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball,” said the other.

        • Yeah, I’m sure. That was only scored an error because the official scorer was being a bobo for his hometown team’s pitcher.

          • Sonny T

            Thanks Bob.

  • Ralphy

    With depth judgment like that, I’d pay to watch him parallel park!

  • Jeff

    I suppose it’s better to keep the ball in front of you than have it go over your head.