What would happen if a male tennis player removed his shirt because he had it on backwards?
It’s a question that’s fair to ask because we now know what happens if a woman should.
Alize Cornet, playing in the blazing heat at the U.S. Open in New York, switched her shirt around when she realized it was on wrong. Shocking. Or as the umpire declared, “unsportsmanlike conduct.”
In a statement, U.S. Open officials said the umpire was wrong, according to The Guardian.
“We regret that a code violation was assessed to Ms Cornet,” the statement read. “We have clarified the policy to ensure this will not happen moving forward… Female players, if they choose, may also change their shirts in a more private location close to the court, when available. They will not be assessed a bathroom break in this circumstance.”
Cornet won the victory of the shirt, but lost the match.
(h/t: Mike Worcester)