Few Minnesota winners in national journalism awards

There were two local winners announced today when the national Edward R. Murrow Awards were given out. Overall, though, Minnesota was not particularly well represented in the annual awards from the Radio Television News Directors Association.

Of the 95 awards handed out, these are the two Minnesota winners:

Boyd Huppert, the marvelous storyteller at KARE won for best writing. (See compilation video)

The Star Tribune won for overall online news excellence for local news organizations. The entry (available here) stressed the website’s video offerings.

Find all the winning entries here.

  • Paul

    Minnesota has 2% of the nation’s population, and won 2% of the journalism awards. Seems proportional.

  • boB from WA

    After hearing/watching the video, I can sympathize w/Mr Huppert about coming up w/a closing line/summary. As one who writes/tells stories I too find this to be the most difficult part of the task.

    I appreciate that Mr Huppert is being honored for his storytelling. When I was living in the TC His news articles were the one’s I looked forward to the most.