Big Ten splits up Minnesota, Wisconsin

Minnesota and Wisconsin will play in separate divisions, according to the Associated Press and ESPN.

But, don’t fret football rivalry fans. Paul Bunyan’s Axe will still be up for grabs as the two teams are expected to play a crossover game.

Ohio State and Michigan will also play each other once during the regular season despite being placed in separate divisions.

Division 1

Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota and Northwestern

Division 2

Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Illinois, Purdue and Indiana

Thankfully, Iowa will still be in our division. I’m hoping to get our goalpost back.

The official Big Ten announcement is expected at 6 p.m.Update: It’s official.

What do you think about the divisions?

  • John O

    Why not just call it the 2-by-6 Conference? 😉