Coming to America

About 400 immigrants became U.S. citizens today in a ceremony at the Fitzgerald Theater in St. Paul. They came from Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Burma, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chile, China, Colombia, Cote D’Ivoire, Egypt, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Honduras, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, Sudan, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, The Gambia, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USSR, Vietnam, and Yemen.

Tom Crann will have some of their stories this afternoon on MPR’s All Things Considered.