Vote counting trudges on in Mpls. City Council races

Counting continues Friday for the remaining Minneapolis City Council seats that have not yet declared an unofficial winner.

Linea Palmisano was declared the unofficial winner Friday morning for Ward 13, the seat held by Mineapolis Mayor-elect Betsy Hodges. Palmisano is board chair of the Linden Hills Neighborhood Council.

Now, Ward 9, and Ward 5, respectively, will be tabulated by two independent teams of tabulators. The teams sit in separate rooms at Minneapolis City Hall, and one person tabulates spreadsheets, while the other monitors for accuracy.

Following City Council results, tabulators will continue to the board of estimate and taxation, as well as three seats for the park and recreation board.

As each round is completed, results will be posted at

On election night, these candidates were declared unofficial winners, based on first-round results:

City Council Ward 1: Kevin Reich
City Council Ward 2: Cam Gordon
City Council Ward 3: Jacob Frey
City Council Ward 4: Barbara Johnson
City Council Ward 6: Abdi Warsame
City Council Ward 7: Lisa Goodman
City Council Ward 8: Elizabeth Glidden
City Council Ward 10: Lisa Bender
City Council Ward 11: John Quincy
City Council Ward 12: Andrew Johnson
Park and Recreation Board District 1: Liz Wielinski
Park and Recreation Board District 3: Scott Vreeland
Park and Recreation Board District 4: Anita Tabb
Park and Recreation Board District 5: Steffanie Musich