House GOP keeps Daudt, Peppin in top posts

Minnesota House Republicans decided Friday to keep their top leaders in place following a highly successful election.

House Speaker Kurt Daudt, R-Zimmerman, and House Majority Leader Joyce Peppin, R-Rogers, won unanimous re-election during a closed-door caucus meeting.

The anticipated affirmations came after Republicans increased their House majority three seats in Tuesday’s general election. They now have a 76-57 advantage over Democrats.

In a news release announcing the selection, Daudt said he was proud to earn the support of his peers to remain speaker. Daudt also said voters chose “common sense and compromise” over Gov. Mark Dayton’s wish for all-DFL control.

“We will do everything in our power to respect the clear direction Minnesotans have given us,” Daudt said.

Daudt, who was first elected to the House in 2010, has been speaker the past two years and previously served as minority leader.

Peppin, who was first elected to the House in 2004, has been majority leader the past two years.

The 2017 Legislative session begins Jan. 3.