Clinton names Minnesota leadership team

Hillary Clinton’s campaign for president announced that several well-known Minnesota politicians, labor organizers and donors will be part of her leadership team in Minnesota.

Gov. Mark Dayton, Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Sen. Al Franken and other state and federal politicians have been tapped to serve as the in-state leadership for the campaign.

Dayton, Klobuchar and Franken have been supporting Clinton for quite some time, but a few others, including former Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Alan Page, have pledged their support for the first time. Page couldn’t take an active role in politics during his time on the bench. He retired in August.

The announcement comes as Vice President Joe Biden is nearing a decision on whether he intends to run for president in 2016. A list of top Minnesota politicians, activists and donors could send a message to Biden that Clinton’s team has already locked down significant support in a state that has a number of key delegates and super delegates at the national convention.

Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders is also spending a lot of time and energy on organizing support in Minnesota. He’s held several events in Minnesota over the last year.

Here’s the list released by Clinton’s campaign:

Joining the Hillary for Minnesota Leadership Council today:

  • U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar
  • U.S. Senator Al Franken
  • Governor Mark Dayton
  • Lt. Governor Tina Smith
  • U.S. Representative Tim Walz
  • State Senator Melissa Franzen
  • State Senator Jeff Hayden
  • State Senator Sandy Pappas
  • State Senator Kathy Sheran
  • State Senator Katie Seiben
  • State Senator Terri Bonoff
  • State Senator Ann Rest
  • State Representative Paul Thissen (House Minority Leader)
  • State Representative Erin Murphy (House Deputy Minority Leader)
  • State Representative Linda Slocum
  • State Representative Rena Moran
  • State Representative Cheryl Youkim
  • State Representative John Lesch
  • State Representative Dan Schoen
  • State Representative Jon Applebaum
  • Mayor Betsy Hodges, Minneapolis
  • Mayor Chris Coleman, St. Paul
  • Councilman Jacob Frey, Minneapolis
  • Councilman Abdi Warsame, Minneapolis
  • Former US Assistant Secretary of State Eric P. Schwartz
  • Former Lt. Governor Yvonne Prettner-Solon
  • Former Minnesota Secretary of State Joan Anderson Growe
  • Former Councilman Melvin Carter, St. Paul
  • Ken Martin, Chairman, Minnesota DFL
  • Dr. Sheila McGuire Riggs, Former IA Democratic State Party Chair
  • Nancy Schumacher, DNC Member
  • Lauren Beecham, Executive Director, Women Winning
  • Susy Bates, Deputy Director, Women Winning
  • Maggie Meyer, Associate Director, Women Winning
  • Mary Ricker, National Executive Vice President, AFT
  • Denise Specht, President, Education Minnesota
  • Brandon Rettke, Education Minnesota
  • Joshua Kyle Makarios, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
  • Colleen Murphy-Conney, Machinists, Directing Business Representative LL 623
  • Rick Ryan, Machinists, Assistant Directing Business Representative DL 77
  • Lynn Wilson, Congressional District 1 Grassroots Volunteer Lead
  • Hannah Quinn, Carleton College Grassroots Volunteer Lead, 2nd Congressional District
  • Jules D’Eredita, Macalester College Grassroots Volunteer Lead, 4th Congressional District
  • Teresa Campbell, 5th Congressional District Grassroots Volunteer Lead
  • Conrad Zbikowski, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Grassroots Volunteer Lead, 5th Congressional District
  • Jessica Andrist, 6th Congressional District Grassroots Volunteer Lead
  • Justin DePaolis-Metz, 7th Congressional District  Grassroots Volunteer Lead
  • Joel Heller, 8th Congressional District Grassroots Volunteer Lead
  • Alan C. and Diane Sims Page
  • Vance Opperman
  • Ellen Goldberg-Luger
  • Laura Bishop
  • Hubert “Buck” Humphrey
  • Dean Phillips
  • Tammy Lee Stanoch
  • Karen Wilson Thissen
  • Gerald Strauss
  • Corey Day
  • Shivanthi Sathanandan
  • Heidi Kraus Kaplan
  • Jettie Ann Hill
  • Sami Rahamim
  • Profoundly disappointing to see so many of our representatives cozying up to the most corrupt elements of the party establishment. Nice that they’re providing me a list of people not to vote for, though!

  • Todd Masman

    Interesting that VP Mondale is not on this list.

  • Hillary Clinton has spent decades cultivating relationships with Democratic Party leaders, elected officials, and the leading figures in hundreds of unions, causes, and community organizations. That’s fine, I like Hillary, but we have someone even *better* in the race for President: Bernie Sanders.

    Bernie may not have the name recognition, he may not have the early endorsements, he many not have the well funded ground operation, but what he does have is far better stances on virtually every issue, a highly motivated support base of regular folks, and the honesty, integrity, and authenticity of fighting for exactly the same things way before it was cool.

    That’s why I support Bernie. That’s why Bernie Sanders is going to win in Minnesota, that’s why he’s going to ultimately triumph in the race for the Democratic nomination, and that’s why he will be our next President of the United States of America.

    Get in on the movement! Sign Up, Donate, Volunteer
    Bernie Sanders on the issues

  • Fred

    Stunning victory of big business, big labor, big money, crony capitalism and big dishonesty over the small donors, individuals, primary and little guys. They want to railroad Hillary into the presidency regardless of what the people think. It’s basically the Soviet system.