Emmer to join Dayton on trade trip

DFL Gov. Mark Dayton has invited a one-time political rival to join him on a trade mission to Mexico next week.

Minnesota Republican U.S. House Rep. Tom Emmer, who ran for governor against Dayton in 2010, is among the 36-member delegation announced today.

Emmer is now in his first term in the House representing the 6th District.

Other delegates represent agriculture, business, education and state government. They will travel to Mexico City and Guadalajara, beginning Aug. 9.

“As Minnesota’s second-largest export market, Mexico is a very important trading partner for businesses and farmers throughout our state,” Dayton said in a news release. “The goal of this trade mission will be to establish and build relationships that will help Minnesota companies and producers increase their exports to Mexico, and in doing so, create more jobs here at home.”

Here is the list of the Mexico trade mission participants:

Cristine Almeida, President and CEO, Almeida Public Affairs, St. Paul
Brandon Anderson, President, Von Ruden Manufacturing, Inc., Buffalo
Greg Benson, Owner and CEO, Loll Designs, Inc., Duluth
Laura Bishop, Vice President, Best Buy Co., Inc., Minneapolis
Rick Brimacomb, Founder, Brimacomb & Associates, Minneapolis
Susan Burns, President, Susan Burns, LLC, Minneapolis
Maria Antonio Calvo, Chair, Cine Global, Film Society of Minneapolis and St. Paul
Eric Canny, Dean, Global Education, Augsburg College, Minneapolis
Sergio Castillo, President and CEO, ECO BCG Corporation, Woodbury
Tom Emmer, U.S. Representative, U.S. House of Representatives
Matthew Field, President and CEO, Goebel Fixture Company, Hutchinson
George Goblish, President, Minnesota Soybean Growers Association, Mankato
Kevin C. Hanson, CEO and President, International Creative Capital, LLC, Wayzata
Nate Heydt, Vice President, Loll Designs, Inc., Duluth
Pat Kelly, Attorney, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., Minneapolis
Michael Langley, CEO, GREATER MSP, St. Paul
Amy Lindgren, President, Prototype Career Service, St. Paul
Meredith McQuaid, Associate Vice President and Dean of International Programs, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Lance Mueffelman, CFO, Goebel Fixture Company, Hutchinson
Tom Newton, Vice President, KNOCK, inc., Minneapolis
Anna Kate Nolan, Resident Advisor, University of St. Thomas, St. Paul
Michael Nolan, Director, Small Business Development Center, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Earl Potter, President, St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud
Luis G. Resendiz, Attorney, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., Minneapolis
Dan Root, Director, Minnesota Corn Growers Association, Shakopee
Steven Rosenstone, Chancellor, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, St. Paul
Dr. Judith Schaefer, President, Cotter Schools, Winona
Nick Scott, Transfer Pricing Director, Grant Thornton, Minneapolis
Lori Stevermer, MN Pork Producers Association, Mankato
Glenn Thuringer, President, Bioverse, Inc., Worthington
Eduardo Hurtado, Marketing Manager, Boston Scientific Corporation Mexico
Luis Vinagre, Marketing Manager, Infusion Therapies Latin America, Smiths Medical
Suzanne Vold, Secretary, Minnesota Division, and dairy farm owner-operator, Midwest Dairy Association, Glenwood
Todd Vollmers, Attorney, Thompson Hall Santi Cerny & Katkov, Minneapolis
Mike Zins, President, Board of Directors, Minnesota Soybean Processors, Brewster
Alberto Fierro, Consul of Mexico in St. Paul, Consulate of Mexico

Also participating:

Dave Frederickson, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, St. Paul
Sarah Hinde, Director of External Relations, Office of the Governor, St. Paul
Jennie Maes, Aide to the Governor, Office of the Governor, St. Paul
Barbara Mattson, International Trade Representative, Minnesota Trade Office, St. Paul
Kathleen Motzenbecker, Executive Director, Minnesota Trade Office, St. Paul
Thomas Norman, Director, Workforce Development Division, DEED, St. Paul
Tim Odegard, International Trade Representative, Minnesota Trade Office, St. Paul
Jeffrey Phillips, International Trade Manager, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, St. Paul