GOP supporter of same-sex marriage bill won’t run again in 2014

Rep. Andrea Kieffer, R-Woodbury, has announced that she will not seek a third term in the Minnesota House next year.

“It has been an honor to serve for the last four years, but this was never intended to be a career for me.” Kieffer said in a statement. “I look forward to hearing what the next representative will do for our community and our state.”

Kieffer did not explain the reasons for her decision. She did not immediately respond to an interview request.

House Minority Leader Kurt Daudt, R-Crown, said Kieffer will be missed.

“It’s another example that serving in the Legislature is certainly  a sacrifice for everybody that does it,” Daudt said. “She’s made a decision that right now in her life she needs to move on and do some other things. We certainly want to thank her for her service.”

Kieffer was one of five Republican legislators who voted to legalize same-sex marriage in the state during the 2013 session. The other GOP House votes came from Reps. David FitzSimmons of Albertville, Pat Garofalo of Farmington and Jenifer Loon of Eden Prairie.

Sen. Branden Petersen, R-Andover, was the lone Republican vote in the Minnesota Senate. Petersen won’t face re-election until 2016. The Minnesotans United Political Action Committee has been raising money for those GOP lawmakers, along with 10 Democrats, to help them weather any voter backlash resulting from their vote.

Kieffer was first elected in 2010. She was re-elected in 2012. Her current committee assignments are Jobs and Economic Development Finance and Policy; Labor, Workforce and Regulated Industries; Public Safety Finance and Policy.

Kay Hendrickson of Woodbury has filed as a DFL candidate for Kieffer’s seat, District 53B.