Three construction teams compete to build Senate Office Building

MPR Photo/Hart Van Denburg

Three teams of contractors have submitted bids to the state to build a new $89 million Senate Office Building. The firms are Ryan Companies with HGA Architects, Mortenson Construction with BWBR Architects and Kraus-Anderson Construction with Architectural Alliance.

The state asked companies to submit bids for the work by July 1. A seven member committee has been meeting privately to review the bids. The members of the committee are former state Supreme Court Justice Paul Anderson, Senate Majority Leader Tom Bakk,DFL-Cook, Sen. Dave Senjem, R-Rochester, Sen. Ann Rest, DFL-New Hope, House Majority Leader Erin Murphy, DFL-St. Paul, Rep. Matt Dean, R-Dellwood and Rep. Raymond Dehn, DFL-Minneapolis.

The intent is to complete the selection process for the design-builder by the end of the month. The bids will become public at that time. Here’s the preliminary pre-design put forward by the administration department.

Funding for the new building was approved when Gov. Dayton signed the omnibus tax bill into law in late May. DFL Senate Majority Leader Bakk says the new building is needed to ensure the Senate has enough space during the Capitol renovation. Republicans have criticized the proposal as being unnecessary and a waste of taxpayer money.