The Daily Digest

Welcome to the Daily Digest, where we’re still a little sleepy after a late night watching election results.

Primary Night

Rick Nolan won the DFL primary, and will compete against Rep. Chip Cravaack this fall to represent Minnesota’s 8th Congressional District.

Nolan secured 38 percent of the vote, Tarryl Clark got 32 percent, and Anderson got 29 percent.

Republican Allen Quist will face DFL Rep. Tim Walz in Minnesota’s First District. GOP state Sen. Mike Parry conceded to Quist late last night.

The real nail-biter of the night was the Republican primary in Senate District 33 near Lake Minnetonka. Throughout much of the night, incumbent Rep. Connie Doepke of Orono held a narrow lead over her GOP-endorsed opponent David Osmek.

But as the last precincts reported, Osmek eked out a narrow 107 point victory over Doepke.

In recent weeks, Osmek got an outside assist from two conservative groups – the Freedom Club and Americans for Prosperity Minnesota – that sent out mailers opposing Doepke.

In the same area, Rep. Steve Smith, the longest serving state House member, lost his primary race against Cindy Pugh.

Osmek’s and Pugh’s victories are a signal the Tea Party is showing greater strength in Minnesota’s Republican Party.

Senate Tax Committee Chair Julianne Ortman won a hotly contested primary in SD 47.

Raymond Dehn won the DFL primary in House District 59B. The area, which encompasses part of North Minneapolis, was previously represented by Bobby Joe Champion.

Full primary results are available on the MPR website.

In Washington

DHS launches new immigration program.

Debate over Medicare on the presidential campaign trail is recasting congressional races, the New York Times reports.

The Presidential Campaign

President Barack Obama holds an advantage over Mitt Romney opponent on the digital front.

Vice President Joe Biden sparked a controversy Tuesday when he told an audience that Romney’s economic policies would “put y’all back in chains.”

The comment drew criticism from Romney.

Obama and Romney talked energy Tuesday.

Unity may be elusive at the DNC, the New York Times reports.

  • Linda Winsor

    I am baffled. I can’t find any info. on the MPR site about the 2 primary contests for MN Supreme Court?

  • Linda Winsor

    In the Minnesota Supreme Court Chief Justice race, incumbent Lorie Skjerven Gildea along with Dan Griffith will move forward to the general election. Skjerven Gildea received nearly 50 percent of the votes, Griffith received about 29 percent of the votes. Jill Clark came in third with approximately 20 percent of the votes.

    In the Minnesota Supreme Court Associate Chief Justice Seat 4 race, incumbent David Stras as well as Tim Tingelstad will move forward to the general election. David Stras received about 49 percent of the votes, Tingelstad received approximately 29 percent of the votes. Alan Nelson came in third with about 21percent of the vote.