Peterson is the latest MN House member to announce retirement

Rep. Sandra Peterson, DFL-New Hope, announced today that she’s retiring from the Minnesota House of Representatives. Citing health concerns, Peterson said it was time for her to step aside and not run in 2012.

“Due to recent, unexpected health concerns, I need to refocus my energies onto recuperation and spending time with my family. I will not be able to devote the time and energy necessary to serving my constituents in the manner they deserve from their elected representative,” Peterson said in a statement.

Peterson didn’t specify an illness in her statement. Her decision must have come in the past 24 hours because she filed for office on Tuesday.

Peterson is the 27th member of the Minnesota House to announce that she isn’t running for re-election.

Here’s the list of House retirements

Democrats not running again:

Rep. Marion Greene, DFL-Minneapolis

Rep. Bobby Joe Champion, DFL-Minneapolis (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Kate Knuth, DFL-New Brighton

Rep. Denise Dittrich, DFL-Champlin

Rep. Larry Hosch, DFL-St. Joseph

Rep. Bev Scalze, DFL-Little Canada (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Kent Eken, DFL-Twin Valley (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Nora Slawik, DFL-Maplewood

Rep. Bill Hilty, DFL-Finlayson

Rep. Mindy Greiling, DFL-Roseville

Rep. Tom Rukavina, DFL-Virginia

Rep. Kory Kath, DFL-Owatonna

Rep. Sandra Peterson, DFL-New Hope

Republicans not running again:

Rep. John Kriesel, R-Cottage Grove

Rep. Mike LeMieur, R-Little Falls

Rep. Pat Mazorol, R-Bloomington

Rep. Connie Doepke, R-Orono (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Mary Kiffmeyer, R-Big Lake (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Ron Shimanski, R-Silver Lake

Rep. Torrey Westrom, R-Elbow Lake (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Kurt Bills, R-Rosemount (running for the U.S. Senate)

Rep. Brandon Peterson, R-Andover (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Keith Downey, R-Edina (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Mark Murdock, R-Perham

Rep. Mark Buesgens, R-Jordan

Rep. Bruce Anderson, R-Buffalo Township (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Carol McFarlane, R-White Bear Lake

Note: Rep. Tom Tilberry, DFL-Fridley lost his party’s endorsement to former Rep. Connie Bernardy. Tilberry hasn’t said whether he’ll run in a primary.

Comments are closed.