Kath joins a growing list of retirements in the Minnesota House

Rep. Kory Kath, DFL-Owatonna, announced today that he’s not running for re-election. Kath, who was first elected in 2008, cited family considerations as the main reason he’s not running again.

“For over four years my wife, daughter and son have sacrificed so much so I can prioritize our community needs in St. Paul, and I need to turn my attention to them now,” Kath said in an e-mail to his colleagues and constituents. ” I look forward to more days of tucking my kids into bed rather than hearing goodnight over the phone.”

Kath is the 26th incumbent in the Minnesota House to announce that he’s not running for re-election (14 Republicans and 12 Democrats).

Rep. Carol McFarlane, R-White Bear Lake, announced last week that she’s not going to challenge GOP House Majority Leader Matt Dean in a primary. The two were paired in the same district when a new set of political lines were released in February. Dean won the GOP endorsement.

Here’s the list of House retirements:

Democrats not running again:

Rep. Marion Greene, DFL-Minneapolis

Rep. Bobby Joe Champion, DFL-Minneapolis (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Kate Knuth, DFL-New Brighton

Rep. Denise Dittrich, DFL-Champlin

Rep. Larry Hosch, DFL-St. Joseph

Rep. Bev Scalze, DFL-Little Canada (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Kent Eken, DFL-Twin Valley (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Nora Slawik, DFL-Maplewood

Rep. Bill Hilty, DFL-Finlayson

Rep. Mindy Greiling, DFL-Roseville

Rep. Tom Rukavina, DFL-Virginia

Rep. Kory Kath, DFL-Owatonna

Republicans not running again:

Rep. John Kriesel, R-Cottage Grove

Rep. Mike LeMieur, R-Little Falls

Rep. Pat Mazorol, R-Bloomington

Rep. Connie Doepke, R-Orono (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Mary Kiffmeyer, R-Big Lake (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Ron Shimanski, R-Silver Lake

Rep. Torrey Westrom, R-Elbow Lake (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Kurt Bills, R-Rosemount (running for the U.S. Senate)

Rep. Brandon Peterson, R-Andover (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Keith Downey, R-Edina (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Mark Murdock, R-Perham

Rep. Mark Buesgens, R-Jordan

Rep. Bruce Anderson, R-Buffalo Township (running for Minnesota Senate)

Rep. Carol McFarlane, R-White Bear Lake

Note: Rep. Tom Tilberry, DFL-Fridley lost his party’s endorsement to former Rep. Connie Bernardy. Tilberry hasn’t said whether he’ll run in a primary.

Comments are closed.