13 members of the Senate retire

There are several members of the Minnesota Senate who gave retirement speeches today. Some served just months (Mary Jo McGuire) while others served decades (Keith Langseth and Gen Olson)

Here’s the list (in order of speeches):

Sen. Keith Langseth, DFL-Glyndon

Sen. Mary Jo McGuire, DFL-Falcon Heights

Sen. Gretchen Hoffman, R-Vergas

Sen. Doug Magnus, R-Slayton

Sen. Mike Parry, R-Waseca (Running for Congress)

Sen. Ken Kelash, DFL-Minneapolis

Sen. Amy Koch, R-Buffalo

Sen. Chris Gerlach, R-Apple Valley

Sen. Michael Jungbauer, R-East Bethel

Sen. Geoff Michel, R-Edina

Sen. Linda Higgins, DFL-Minneapolis

Sen. Claire Robling, R-Jordan

Sen. Gen Olson, R-Minnetrista

There is one member who didn’t announce his intentions.

Sen. Al DeKruif, R-Madison Lake, said he wouldn’t run for reelection after being paired with Sen. Julie Rosen, R-Fairmont. He has said he’s reconsidering.

The list means there are at least 36 members of the Legislature who are retiring this year. Read the House list here.

A few more may decide before the filing date to not run again. The voters may decide that others shouldn’t return.


Sen. DeKruif said he has not yet decided whether he will retire or challenge Sen. Rosen.

“I’m going to take a few days and give that some thought, talk with my family and then make a decision,” he said. “I’m not ready right now to say.”

Meanwhile, Rosen said she wants to serve one more term in the Senate.

“I’m ready to run again, absolutely,” Rosen said.

  • b

    go rosen