Romney announces support from Minnesota politicians

A few days before the state’s caucuses, Mitt Romney has announced a slate of support from Minnesota lawmakers and Republican activists.

Among them are House Speaker Kurt Zellers and House Majority Leader Matt Dean.

“This wide-ranging support shows that my message of a smaller, simpler, and smarter federal government is resonating with Minnesotans as it is with voters across the country,” Romney said in a press release. I’m counting on these leaders to help me spread this message in the months to come.”

Romney won the state’s 2008 caucus handily with 41 percent of the vote.

Zellers said he was endorsing Romney because “he will work to improve the economy, reduce burdensome regulations and reverse economic policies that expand government rather than private sector job growth.”

Here’s the full list of Romney’s support:

Speaker of the House Kurt Zellers

House Majority Leader Matt Dean

Senator Roger Chamberlain

Representative Kurt Daudt

Representative Dan Fabian

Representative Joe Hoppe

Representative Jenifer Loon

Representative Linda Runbeck

Representative Tim Sanders

Former Executive Director, Minnesota College Republicans Tara Anderson

Former Mayor of New Brighton and former 4th district GOP Chair Bev Aplikowski

Former National Committeewoman Evie Axdahl

Republican Activist Dirk Bak

Former Republican Candidate for Minnesota Attorney General Chris Barden

Republican Activist Andy Brehm

Republican Activist Ward Brehm

Former State Representative Laura Brod

Republican Activist Mike Campbell

Former Chairman, Republican Party of Minnesota Ron Eibensteiner

Republican Activist John Frydenlund

Republican Activist Matthew Gall

Republican Activist and co-founder, Cool Conservative Betsy Gall

Former Chairman, Minnesota College Republicans Jake Grassel

Minnesota Republican Party 4th Congressional District Officer Mary Igo

Former Minnesota Republican Party 4th Congressional District Chair Pat Igo

Small Business Owner Gary Iocco

Former Minnesota Republican Party Vice-Chairwoman Chris Jacobson

Republican Activist Greg Johnson

Minnesota Republican Party BPOU Chair Pat Kaluza

Republican Activist Matt Kirkpatrick

Republican Activist Carrie Kirkpatrick

Former State Representative Paul Kohls

Republican Activist Lisa Laliberte Belak

Vice President of Trade Marketing, General Mills Lohr LeSueur

Minnesota Republican Party 8th Congressional District Chair Ted Lovdahl

Mayor of Brooklyn Park Jeff Lunde

Republican Activist Lynn McHale

Former National Committeeman & Chairman of Romney for President Steering Committee Jack Meeks

Former Executive Director, Minnesota Republican Party Corey Miltimore

Republican Activist William Opsahl

Republican Activist Andy Post

Republican Activist Jeff Quinnell

Chairman of the BPOU Chairs Joe Salmon

Former Treasurer, College Republican National Committee and 7th Congressional District Vice Chair Chris Tiedeman

Former Minnesota Republican Party Chairman Bob Weinholzer

Former BPOU Chair Janet Weir

Former BPOU Chair Gerald Woodley

  • Bev Aplikowski was Mayor of Arden Hills, not New Brighton.