Dayton elected Vice Chair of the Midwest Governors Association

Gov. Mark Dayton has been elected vice chair of the Midwest Governors Association. The group, which represents nine states in the Midwest, is a “bipartisan organization that brings together the governors of the region to work cooperatively on agriculture, economic development and energy issues of importance to the Midwest.

Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad, will serve as chair of MGA through February of 2013. Branstad will focus on “promoting a positive Midwestern narrative, increasing domestic energy production and supporting lower energy costs for businesses and families within the region.”

“I look forward to assisting Governor Branstad with leading the organization through its 50th anniversary year,” Dayton said in a statement. “Working together as a region will help ensure that the Midwest continues to be a national and international leader in innovation.”

Dayton’s election puts him in line to chair the organization in February, 2013 (when Branstad’s term ends). The chairs typically rotate between parties. Former GOP Gov. Tim Pawlenty chaired the group in 2007. (Note: Former GOP Gov. Arne Carlson chaired it for two years in the 1990s). Here’s the list of past chairs.

Comments are closed.