DFLers win two special elections

Republicans will keep a seven-seat majority in the Minnesota Senate after DFL candidates prevailed Tuesday in two special elections.

Unofficial results show Democrat Chris Eaton winning a three-way, special election contest in Senate District 46 with 61.85 percent (3,374) of the vote. Republican Cory Jensen had 32.67 (1,782) percent and Tom Reynolds of the Independence Party came in a distant third at 5.35 percent (292).

The district includes portions of Brooklyn Park and Brooklyn Center. Eaton is a registered nurse. She fills the vacancy created in June by the death of incumbent DFL Senator Linda Scheid.

In south Minneapolis, DFL state Representative Jeff Hayden captured 68 percent of the vote (1,856) to defeat three other candidates for the Senate District 61 seat. Green Party candidate Farheen Hakeem followed with 21. 88 percent (595). Republican Bruce Lundeen had 8.13 percent (221), and Matt Brillhart of the Independence Party had 1.62 percent (44).

The SD 61 vacancy came in August when DFL Senator Linda Berglin resigned to take a job with Hennepin County. Hayden’s victory will now require a special election to fill his House District 61B seat.

Turnout was extremely light in both districts.

Comments are closed.