Zellers and Dean to lead House GOP

Republicans in the Minnesota House elected Kurt Zellers of Maple Grove as the next Speaker of the Minnesota House. The group also elected Matt Dean of Dellwood as the next Majority Leader.

The election now means Minnesotans know who the major players at the State Capitol will be from the Legislature and they are all fresh faces. Sen. Amy Koch is the new Senate Majority Leader. Sen. Tom Bakk is the new Senate Minority Leader. Rep. Paul Thissen is the new House Minority Leader.

No word on who will lead the key committees like House Ways and Means, House Finance, Senate Taxes or Senate Finance.

It may also take a while to see who the four caucus leaders will negotiate with since an automatic recount in Minnesota’s governor’s race is likely.

Comments are closed.