What to read after “The Hunger Games”


Hunger Games Tributes prepare:what will they read when they are done? (Image courtesy Lionsgate.)

As a buyer at the Red Balloon Bookstore in St Paul Julie Poling was one of the people who received an advanced readers copy of Suzanne Collins “The Hunger Games.” She says she knew immediately it was going to be a huge hit.

“I just knew,” she said. “It was so well written.”

It was late 2007, or early 2008 and she read it aloud with her daughters who were then 11 and 13.

“We just plowed through it,” she told me the other day. “Loved it. Every minute of it. They were just blown away by it, And my daughter said at the end ‘This is it. This is the kind of book I ant to read,’ and she has been into that dystopian thing ever since.”

She admits they did the same with “Catching Fire,” and “Mockingjay,” the other books in the Collins trilogy, but they had to swear in advance to the distributors that they would not reveal anything about the books till they were released to the public.

Poling says there is nothing new about young readers fascination with dystopian portrayals of our world could go horribly wrong. She points to how Orwell and Bradbury produced the stories which thrilled and chilled slightly older generations.

Which led to the inevitable question to someone sitting before a wall of books: given that many fans have already inhaled the Hunger Games trilogy, what does she recommend to readers with a dystopian appetite?

“The best book ever written, I say, or the best book written so far, and I have been reading books for a long long time, is “Knife of Never Letting Go.” by Patrick Ness,” Poling said.

It’s the first book in the Chaos Walking trilogy. It’s about a boy called Todd Hewitt growing up on a planet where due to a strange germ everyone can hear what everyone else is thinking. They can even hear and understand what the animals around them are thinking. Todd has to learn how to deal with what they call the Noise that is all around him, and as he does he begins to learn the dark secrets of his community.

“And then there is “Maze Runner,” continued Poling. The James Dashner book about young people living in a maze filled with hideous monsters is a 2011-2012 Maud Hart Lovelace nominee in the Minnesota Youth Reading Awards. As a result Poling says it sells well on its own.

“There’s a new one just out that’s just fantastic called “Divergent”” Poling continued. The Veronica Roth book is set in a dystopic Chicago where young people are assigned to warring factions based on an aptitude test.

Of course the list goes on and on. I reminded her about John Christopher’s Tripod Trilogy which has been a favorite in Britain for decades, and another series Poling likes.

So gentle dystopian reader, what might you recommend? Please post your answers below!