Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images
The play that cost the Packers the game last night — the one where the Packers guy has the ball pinned to his chest, the Seahawks guy only has one arm on it but the refs call it a catch-and-win for Seattle — was proper and correctly called, the NFL says.
Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.
The result of the game is final.
Not sure what this means, other than, “We’re not bringing back the pro refs anytime soon, so quit whining,” or “We know you can’t stop watching, BWAHAHAHAHAHA!”
– Paul Tosto