Primary will decide DFL candidate in 19A

A primary election is set for Jan. 29, in House District 19A to decide the DFL candidate for a special election on Feb. 12.

The special election will fill the seat vacated by Rep. Terry Morrow, DFL-St. Peter, who resigned to take a new job in Chicago. Secretary of State Mark Ritchie announced today that the primary election ballot will include the names of four DFL candidates: Robin Courrier, Clark P. Johnson, Karl Johnson and Timothy Strand. The DFL party is expected to endorse a candidate Saturday.

Republican Alan Quist and Tim Gieseke of the Independence Party are also running for the seat.

Another special election is scheduled Feb. 12 in House District 14A to fill the seat vacated by Rep. Steve Gottwalt, R-St. Cloud, who also resigned to take a new job. No primary is required in that district. The candidates there are DFLer Joanne Dorscher, Republican Tama Theis and Todd McKee of the Independence Party.