All but one paired incumbent settles on political future

Sen. Al DeKruif, R-Madison Lake, announced today that he will not seek reelection. DeKruif, who was paired with Sen. Julie Rosen, R-Fairmont, announced last week that he would not challenge Rosen but left open the possibility of moving to a new district. He decided against taking that step today.

“I need to do what is best for my family and businesses,” DeKruif said in a statement. “After all, it is Minnesota families and job creators that led me to serve in the first place.”

DeKruif is one of the final incumbents to announce a decision about their political future.

The new political boundaries were released late last month. 48 members of the House and Senate were paired together. The only paired incumbent who hasn’t said what he’ll do is GOP House Majority Leader Matt Dean (you can read more about that here).

Here are the latest details in the Senate:

The new maps mean there will be two endorsement battles in the Minnesota Senate. Sen. Michelle Benson, R-Ham Lake, will challenge Sen. Michael Jungbauer, R-East Bethel.

Sen. John Marty, DFL-Roseville, will challenge Sen. Mary Jo McGuire, DFL-Falcon Heights. Marty says he’ll abide by the endorsement. McGuire hasn’t made the same commitment.

There will be one general election battle between incumbents in the Senate as well. Sen. John Carlson, R-Bemidji, will face Sen. Tom Saxhaug, DFL-Grand Rapids.

One member of the Senate will seek higher office. Sen. Gretchen Hoffman, R-Vergas, said she’s running for Congress in Minnesota’s 7th Congressional District.

Sen. Ted Lillie, R-Lake Elmo, announced on Friday that he’s moving into an open seat. Sen. Ken Kelash, DFL-Minneapolis, also announced he’d move instead of challenging another incumbent.

Here are the latest details in the House:

There will be at least two endorsement battles in the Minnesota House. Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen, R-Glencoe, and Rep. Ron Shimanski, R-Silver Lake, say they’ll let GOP delegates decide which one of them will continue on.

Rep. Marion Green, DFL-Minneapolis, and Rep. Frank Hornstein, DFL-Minneapolis, will also have a convention battle and will abide by the DFL endorsement.

Note: There could be another convention fight between Rep. Carol McFarlane, R-White Bear Lake, and Rep. Matt Dean, R-Dellwood, if Dean decides to run for reelection.

There will be three general election match-ups among incumbents. Rep. Larry Howes, R-Walker, and Rep. John Persell, DFL-Bemidji, will face each other in November. Rep. Carolyn McElfatrick, R-Deer River, will face Rep. Tom Anzelc, DFL-Balsam Township. Rep. Roger Crawford, R-Mora, will challenge Rep. Bill Hilty, DFL-Finlayson.

Nine incumbent House members will run for the Minnesota Senate. They are DFL Rep. Kent Eken, GOP Rep. Torrey Westrom, DFL Rep. Lyle Koenen, GOP Rep. Bruce Anderson, GOP Rep. Mary Kiffmeyer, GOP Rep. Connie Doepke, GOP Rep. Branden Peterson, DFL Rep. Bev Scalze and DFL Rep. Bobby Joe Champion.

Two members announced on Friday that they’ll move into different districts. Rep. Paul Torkelson, R-Nelson Township, was paired with GOP Rep. Tony Cornish. Torkelson said he’ll move into an open seat. Rep. Bob Barrett, R-Shafer, also announced that he’ll move into an open seat rather than challenge Rep. Bob Dettmer, R-Forest Lake. Rep. Linda Slocum, DFL-Richfield, also announced she’s moving rather than challenging Rep. Jean Wagenius, DFL-Minneapolis.

Every member of the Legislature is up for reelection this November.

  • Bev Scalze is a Democrat, not a Republican.

  • linda

    It’s Bobby Joe (male version) Champion.

  • tom scheck

    Fixed. Thanks.