Senjem is new majority leader

After an all-day meeting that stretched into the evening Minnesota Senate Republicans chose David Senjem, R- Rochester to be the new Senate Majority Leader.

Senjem was first elected in 2002 and served as minority leader before the Republicans won the majority in the 2010 election.

He replaces Amy Koch as leader. She stepped down from the leadership position earlier this month. A day later some of her GOP colleagues announced she had been involved in an inappropriate relationship with a staffer.

Senate Republicans also elected Sen. Roger Chamberlain,R-Lino Lakes, Sen. Paul Gazelka, R-Brainerd, Sen. Ted Lillie, R-Lake Elmo, and Sen. Claire Robling,R-Jordan to serve as assistant majority leaders.

Senjem has seven days to appoint two additional assistant leaders.

  • Eric Ferguson

    At least he might have heard about the days when Republicans could actually make a deal and keep government functioning, even when they had philosophical differences with the DFL and the governor. Since he’s what passes for a moderate, maybe he’ll try to actually get something done instead seeing who can win a confrontation. Hopefully, this means Dayton lucked out and got at least one GOP leader who won’t think compromise is evil.