Party-backed candidates cruise in Senate specials

The endorsed candidates running for two Minnesota Senate seats are now heading to the general election.

Jeff Hayden, a state representative, won the DFL primary over five opponents in Senate District 61. Hayden pulled in 61 percent of the vote in the Minneapolis district. He’ll face Republican Bruce Lundeen, Independence Party member Matt Brillhart and Green Party member Farheen Hakeem in the general election. The seat was vacated when DFL Sen. Linda Berglin announced she was retiring to take a job with Hennepin County.

In Senate District 46, Democrat Chris Eaton received 88 percent of the vote in the DFL primary against Timothy Davis. Republican Cory Jensen easily defeated Ryan Sibinski to win the GOP primary. Eaton, Jensen and Independence Party candidate Tom Reynolds all move on to the general election ballot. The seat, which includes Brooklyn Center and Brooklyn Park, was vacated when DFL Sen. Linda Scheid died in June.

The general election will be held on October 18 for both seats.

  • Ralph Crammedin

    Thanks for the links, Tom. Your dedication to the detail of this stuff is unmatched.