Candidate filings close for two special elections

A Republican candidate for the Minnesota Senate has surfaced in District 61, where six Democrats and two third-party candidates are also running for the vacant seat.

Bruce Lundeen filed paperwork today on the final day of the special election filing period. He will run for the seat held by Sen. Linda Berglin, DFL-Minneapolis, who recently resigned to take a job with Hennepin County. The four DFL candidates in SD 61 are Elsa Batica, state Rep. Jeff Hayden, Kristian Heuer, Sadik Warfa, Paulette Will and Kyle Wilson. Matt Brillhart is an Independence Party candidate. Farheen Hakeem is running as a Green Party candidate.

Another special election in District 46 will fill the vacancy created by the death of Sen. Linda Scheid, DFL-Brooklyn Park. Corey Jensen, Ryan Sibinski and Richard Taylor filed as Republicans. Timothy Davis and Chris Eaton are DFL candidates. Tom Reynolds is running as an Independence Party candidate. Republican Robert Marvin withdrew his name today.

Each district will hold a primary election on September 13. The special election date is October 18.

Comments are closed.