Dayton names senior staff

Governor-Elect Mark Dayton announced his first staff hires today.

The list includes Tina Smith, who will serve as Dayton’s chief of staff. Smith previously worked as chief of staff for Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak. The senior leadership will include Dana Anderson as deputy chief of staff, Michelle Kelm-Helgen as deputy chief of staff for legislative affairs and Andrea Mokros as deputy chief of staff for communications and outreach.

Dayton also named Katharine Tinucci as his press secretary, Fatima Villasenor as senior aide to the governor, and Josie Johnson as co-chair of his transition.

“I’m very proud to announce this Leadership Team,” Dayton said in a news release. “Each is an experienced professional in her own right. And, together, they form a very strong nucleus of the Governor’s Office. We will be announcing additional members key members of the Governor’s Leadership Team shortly.”