The Minnesota Legislature turns red

Republicans have taken control of the Minnesota Legislature in sweeping fashion. Republicans have picked up sixteen seats and now hold a 37-30 majority. Republicans have picked up at least 24 seats but there could be an additional two seats that turn GOP. Three of those races are probably going to an automatic recount. Carol Lewis lost by 28 votes. David Bly lost by 30 votes. Robin Brown lost by 75 votes.

In all, 32 incumbents lost on Tuesday. Every single one of them is a member of the DFL Party.

Here’s the list of incumbents who went down:

HOUSE — 19 total:

– Dave Olin, of Thief River Falls (district 1a)

– Bernard Lieder, of Crookston (district 1b)

– Tim Faust, of Hinckley (district 8b)

– Al Doty, of Royalton (district 12b)

– Al Juhnke, of Willmar (district 13b)

– Gail Kulick Jackson, of Milaca (district 16a)

– David Bly, of Northfield (district 25b)

– Robin Brown, of Moscow Township (district 27a)

– Andy Welti, of Plainview (district 30b)

– Phil Sterner, of Rosemount (district 37b)

– Sandra Masin, of Eagan (district 38a)

– Mike Obermueller, of Eagan (district 38b)

– Will Morgan, of Burnsville (district 40a)

– Paul Rosenthal, of Edina (district 41b)

– Maria Ruud (pronounced ‘rude’), of Minnetonka (district 42a)

– Jerry Newton, of Coon Rapids (district 49b)

– Paul Gardner, of Shoreview (district 53a)

– Julie Bunn, of Lake Elmo (district 56a)

– Marsha Swails, of Woodbury (district 56b)

SENATE – 13 total:

– Mary Olson, of Bemidji (district 4)

– Dan Skogen, of Hewitt (district 10)

– Lisa Fobbe, of Zimmerman (district 16)

– Rick Olseen, of Harris (district 17)

– Kevin Dahle, of Northfield (district 25)

– Ann Lynch, of Rochester (district 30)

– Sharon Erickson Ropes, of Winona (district 31)

– Jim Carlson, of Eagan (district 38)

– John Doll, of Burnsville (district 40)

– Leo Foley, of Coon Rapids (district 47)

– Don Betzold, of Fridley (district 51)

– Sandy Rummel, of White Bear Lake (district 53)

– Kathy Saltzman, of Woodbury (district 56)