Seven state lawmakers announce they’re backing Rybak

Democrat R.T. Rybak’s campaign for governor announced today that seven DFL state lawmakers are backing Rybak for governor. DFL state Senators Jim Carlson, Kevin Dahle, John Doll, Mary Olson, Yvonne Prettner Solon and Kathy Sheran and DFL state Rep. Tina Liebling have signed up to support Rybak. All of the members live outside of the Minneapolis and St. Paul.

“We are supporting R.T. because we believe he is the right leader at the right time,” Liebling said in the news release. “Maybe it’s time to have a governor who’s not so closely tied to the Capitol. It’s time for a governor who’s shown us he has the executive experience to really get results. It’s time for a governor with R.T.’s ability to rally all Minnesota around a shared vision for our state.”

Liebling’s comments in Rybak’s news release don’t specifically name DFL House Speaker Margaret Anderson Kelliher, who is also running for governor, but there’s no doubt where she’s aiming. Rybak and Kelliher were the top two vote getters in the straw poll and most campaign staffers say Rybak and Kelliher have the most support. That being said, most delegates are still undecided.

DFL state Sen. John Marty and DFL state Reps. Tom Rukavina and Paul Thissen are the other DFL lawmakers running for governor who say they’ll abide by the DFL endorsement.

Comments are closed.